Chive Oil Vinaigrette

Sure I could have just chopped up some chives and tossed them on top of my salad but I was looking for something interesting to soak into my sunflower seed toast croutons, it worked perfectly. Sorry there is no picture of the actual salad I ate because I finished the whole thing before I realized I wanted to post the recipe. Suffice to say I served this over a bowl brimming with micro greens and two slices of crispy toast cubes.

Ingredients:
½ Cup fresh chives
¼ Cup Olive oil
2 Tbs White balsamic vinegar
¼ Tsp Honey
White pepper and sea salt to taste

Method: Use a blender combine chives and oil, the chives will not totally disintegrate rather become more like pulp, pass this mixture though a fine sieve to separate out the larger pieces, what should be left is a smooth not too overwhelmingly chivy green oil. Whisk the chive oil together with remaining ingredients and toss with your favorite mix of greens and unseasoned croutons.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chive Oil Vinaigrette

  1. Karen says:

    This will be beautiful on the nice spring salad.

  2. Bernie Hayes says:

    What a great idea. I also have more chives than I know what to do with, so I will give your recipe a try.

Leave a Reply

