Quick and Easy Fettuccini with Multiple Herb Pesto

Ah the inevitable mid week question of what to make for dinner? You are looking at last night’s decision. As simplistic as this recipe is, it is surprisingly good, fast, and fresh. I plucked all the greens & herbs from my garden while I was waiting for the water to boil, cleaned and prepped while the pasta was cooking, round trip from harvest to plate in about 20 minutes, pretty doable for any week night I’d say. I know it seems like a lot of different flavors in here but they all cohesively come together in the end, I promise. My husband added a sprinkle of parmesan over the top, but I prefer it without. I’ll leave that decision up to you.

Ingredients:
250g of your favorite dry Fettuccini(should be enough for 2 people)
1/2 cup Spinach
1/3 cup Tarragon
1/3 cup Parsley
1/3 cup Arugula
1/4 cup Basil
1/3 cup Pine nuts
1/4 cup sunflower seeds(raw unsalted)
1/3 cup Olive oil
1 clove Garlic micro grated
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
*optional* Grated parmesan cheese for garnish

Method: First of all get your pasta going, I think everyone knows how to boil dry pasta, I don’t have any special tips to offer but if you randomly stumbled on to my blog and don’t know how, following the directions on the pasta package is always a safe bet. While the noodles are boiling away put your food processor or blender on standby but don’t turn it on, yet. To make the pesto, measure all the ingredients except the pasta (obviously) into the bowl of the processor or blender. Right before the pasta is done cooking heat up a large skillet to about medium. As soon as the pasta is ready, give the pesto a wiz. wait until the last minute to process the pesto or it will oxidize and go an icky brown. Right away transfer the pesto and pasta to the heated skillet, toss the pasta so that it gets evenly coated in pesto. Let it cook together stirring and tossing constantly for just a minute or two, until the greens brighten up and everything is warmed through. Serve and enjoy garnished with a few pine nut, some freshly ground black pepper and a sprinkle of parmesan if you are so inclined.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick and Easy Fettuccini with Multiple Herb Pesto

  1. Karen says:

    Your pesto sounds good and I have loads of tarragon in my herb garden.

  2. Magen Sevier says:

    Looks absolutely delish! thanks!

  3. Nice twist on the common recipe! Mind if I take some inspiration from this? 😉

Leave a Reply

