A Good Year for Squash?

The first baby summer squash are almost ready

Not sure if I did something right or if it’s just a good year for squash? The summer so far has been damp and off to a slow start, less than ideal squash weather, aren’t squash suppose to like it hot? I started all my squash(zucchini, scaloppini, butternut and pumpkin) from seed directly in the ground, not a single transplant this year, I kept all the squash covered under cloches until they could be cloched no more and their leaves were pressing against all sides. This time last year I was already harvesting baby zucs, but all the squash were covered with powdery mildew, so much so that I lost my winter squash in the seedling stage and they never even produced a single flower.

Off to a good start my squash plants have lots of green leaves, no powdery mildew,yet?!

This year the puzzling thing is despite the rainy weather, all my squash winter and summer are doing surprisingly well, big green leaves, tons of flower buds and barley a trace of powdery mildew in sight. I am growing the same varieties of squash as last year, I still had seeds left over from the same seed packages. Could cloching squash in their early life really have made such a fundamental difference? Did forgoing transplanting “stress” help to establish healthier plants? I am not an expert in any of this but it seems to me we have had the worst spring to try and start squash and somehow my squash are thriving. I’ll have to see if it works again next year? or if this was just a lucky year?

This entry was posted in edibles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Good Year for Squash?

  1. My pie pumpkin, butternut, zucchini and cuc are all also doing well. I did not start them indoors, just seeds on the outside of the garden fence and I do think the lack of transplant stress has helped.
    Love your blog by the way, just found it and, here in Ottawa, I have turned most of my city lot into veg and herb (rasberry) farm. Property taxes being so high, it’s nice to get something out of it besides a green lawn:)

  2. Just an update on my squashes Elise. The cuc’s and zucchini continue to produce marvelously (thought the zucchini leaves ended up with powery mildew about 2nd week of August and the plant looks sad now, it continues to produce) Only 2 butternut squash formed on the one plant, not sure if this is normal or not? They are lovely but it’s a lot of vine for just 2:) My pie pumpkin is a different story. I underestimated the walnut tree at the back of the yard. Last year it must have been a lot smaller (it was planted by a squirrel about 4 years ago) because my poor pumpkin was in shade from August on. Only 1 pumpkin, sigh.

    • I only got a couple butternut squash this year as well, there were so many flowers but only a couple turned into squash, I found a really wonderful white scallopini squash variety this year that really stood up to powderly mildew I have to dig up the seed package an post about it I was really impressed:) Don’t feel bad about your 1 pumpkin that is 1 more than me I slacked off on the watering and neither of my two pumpkin vines survived

  3. Well I just hope the 1 pumpkin I did get makes it to Orange from the Green he still is (wonder why I label things like a pumpkin he? Weird:) Last year, I assume because the tree near to the fence was smaller, I got 6 little pie pumpkins. The vine remained healthy, up the trellis I had built for it and down the trellis then headed through the lilies and up the backyard fence and scalled the backyard neighbours cedars!!! Sort of like a horror movie:) This year, the small vine is dead and this one little guy hangs on. I have got to look for this scallopini squash, sounds wonderful. I’ll watch for your post on the name. Maybe 2 is the limit per butternut squash vine? Maybe it’s not us:)

Leave a Reply

