A Sad Day in the Blueberry Patch

As I was walking through the blueberry patch this morning rubbing my hands together greedily, thinking of the bumper crop of blueberries I was raising , I noticed something horrifying, something has gone horribly wrong.Despite the abundance of flowers this year, the immature fruit and buds of what should be fruit, are drying up and falling off, not just one or two but many whole stem clusters, it’s like the growing tips are just getting pinch off from the rest of the otherwise healthy looking plants?Truthfully I have seen this in the past I assumed it was an unfortunate trait of establishing blueberries in dry conditions, everything I have read on blueberries does say not to expect much for the first three years.Here I am coming into year four, we have had an unbelievably wet spring and it looks like my poor blueberries are suffering from some kind of desert drought. I have no idea what caused this tragedy and am currently looking for some good advice? Anybody have any?

This entry was posted in Perennial Edibles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

