Jerusalem Artichoke Chips

Fresh and crisp jerusalem artichoke chips with sea salt

This is really more of a recommendation than a recipe, I think most people know how to slice, deep fry and add salt! I won’t even pretend for one second that this is healthy, but seriously, it is delicious. The sweetness that develops when the jerusalem artichokes are browned would beat the best yam fries any day.  Deep frying has given me a  whole new appreciation for these humble tubers. I am going to further experiment with browning them whole then braising. Most recipes I have found for jerusalem artichoke involve roasting or boiling but neither of those methods brings out the sweetness quite as much. the important step here with making jerusalem artichoke chips nice and crisp is slicing extremely thin. My attempt at thick hand cut fries were sadly limp and droopy, I am only speculating it has something to do with the lack of starch compared to potato or yam but I don’t know enough about food theory to say for sure?  The method/recipe is really simple: In a pan heat up some veggie oil to about medium you’ll need it to be about an inch or 2 deep.  Wash, peel and slice(or mandolin) some fresh Jerusalem Artichokes, add a few slices to the hot oil, deep fry unit they are gold brown, work in batches so you don’t over crowd the pan. Remove and dry on a kitchen towel when they turn golden. Dust with sea salt and eat!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jerusalem Artichoke Chips

  1. Louise MacDougall says:

    As a long time fan of Jerusalem Artichokes, they look absolutely mouth watering!

    Someday, I will have to bring you some of the fresh yam salad that my local health food store makes and sells in their deli. They offer about half a dozen different salads, but the yam is my favourite.

    Also, do add steaming to your list of ways to prepare Jerusalem artichokes. That’s the way I used to make them when you were little: steamed, and then mashed with butter. Preserves more of the nutrients in the artichockes, and then you have the water left over (with the rest of the nutrients in it) to use in homemade soup.

    Or, since the water is green (yes green), it can be used as dye. At least the water from steaming mine was green. Your Jerusalem Artichokes seem to be a different variety than the ones I grew–mine were pale yellow inside, not orangey, and with a milder flavour.

  2. Louise MacDougall says:

    Oops, I guess I should have said that the reason I wanted to bring you some yam salad is so that you could duplicate it or improve on it using Jerusalem artichokes instead.

Leave a Reply

