The Strawberry Lawn

Strawberry plant being taken over by grass I was too lazy to trim

A couple years ago I read somewhere about mixing strawberry plants in to the grass of your lawn, in theory it sounds like a fine idea. Inter planting strawberries all though the lawn almost simulates nature, where wild strawberries interplant themselves throughout fields and clearings.  The strawberry lawn idea gets better as idealistically during the spring and summer your lawn becomes a temporary strawberry patch and in the fall and winter when you cut the strawberries plants back, you can enjoy your green lawn instead of a brown strawberryless patch.  This year I attempted the strawberry lawn, in what little lawn I have left. I thought my husband knew I had planted strawberry seedlings all over the lawn, but mistakenly he mowed about half of them before he realize they were strawberries, Stu doesn’t like yard work anyways so we agreed I would take care of cutting the grass for the rest of the summer which brings me to a big issue;  Grass grows way faster than strawberries, in the summer we need to mow weekly but it took hours cutting around each strawberry plant by hand. And probably the biggest determining factor time versus production. Strawberries don’t like competing for resources, the poor strawberry plants were always looking droughted sprinkling is against city by laws in the summer for me, so I had to hand water, then hand clip all for about a hand full of berries! In the strawberries defense they were absolutely wonderfully tasty.  I summed this up as a failed experiment, pulled out what plants looked savable and moved them to make a border around the lawn and big trees.  Maybe if I had ideal growing conditions and lots of extra time on my hands this project might have worked for me. BUT  I could see the strawberry lawn  being a good compromise for someone that has an extremely restricted growing space for example a townhome where you have a couple feet of  “mandatory” grass by your front door, that could work?

This entry was posted in edibles, Perennial Edibles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

