My Favorite Perennial Salad

This low maintenance mix of arugula, perpetual spinach and sorrel, will rival any annual “spring greens mix” or “mescluns”, without the hassle of constantly re-sowing, or successive planting. In my garden the perennial greens are much more drought tolerant than the annual greens,(I have a very droughfull sandy garden) and don’t get bitter like lettuce  when I am lazy about watering.  The perennial greens have done so well I don’t think I am going to bother with lettuce next year?

Sylvetta Arugula

Sylvetta Arugula: Dark green spicy arugula will grow into a full sprawling loose looking bush about 2’ tall and wide covered in masses of traditional lobed arugula leaves. Frequently flowers spring through fall with many tiny edible yellow  blooms .  It self seeds like crazy which is not a bad thing I you like arugula!

Perpetual Spinach

Perennial Spinach: Also known as spinach beet this was green in my garden all year long last year thanks to our mild winter! This is a form of chard that is grown and used like spinach, it doesn’t get large like chard at full size the plants are spinach size. it has a milder flavor than chard, less oxalic acid than spinach, with a touch of bitterness.

Sorrel

Sorrel: The delicate lemony leaves add a bright flavor and texture to mixed greens, the leaves are very tender with a lot of water content I find they are a nice refreshing contrast to other autumn greens which tend to be  tougher in texture like kale, arugula, and corn salad.

Perennial Salad Greens with Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette:

Traditional vinaigrette is mixed at 3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar, technically speaking my recipe is not a true vinaigrette, you can add more oil if you like, but I personally prefer a 1 to 1 ratio when using balsamic. The above mix of greens balances really well with the sweetness of the vinaigrette. You need about one salad spinner full of equal parts arugula, sorrel, and Perennial spinach, wash well, trim, and tear into bite sized pieces.

Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Whisk together

1 tsp Honey

1 tsp Dijon Mustard

2 tbl Balsamic Vinegar

Keep whisking and slowing stream in

2  tbl Olive Oil

Season with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, toss with greens and impress your friends with this delicious low maintenance salad!

This entry was posted in edibles, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Favorite Perennial Salad

  1. Pingback: Seasonal Sides for Thanksgiving | My Little City Food Garden

  2. Ruby says:

    sounds delicious. Do you have any sources for perpetual spinach or 9 star broccoli?

    • thanks, I love perennial salads!! perpetual spinach is pretty easy to find I got mine at Seeds of Victoria years ago when it was hard to find but I noticed so many more seed places are selling it now Mckenzie is a big one for example saw it on the seed rack at the local hardware store! I have yet to find 9 star broccoli in Canada. West Coast Seeds carries some sprouting broccolis but none are perennial, Salt Spring Seeds also has a fantastic selection of hard to find perennial veggies and the owner is a really nice guy perhaps he would know a source? If you find a source please let me know, 9 star is on my long term list of search items!

Leave a Reply

