Feeding Friends and Family from the Garden

Turnips and Jerusalem Artichokes

Happy Thanksgiving! Is there really anything more fun than sharing your food garden with friends and family? I had big plans for several glorious garden dishes to serve at our thanksgiving but I ended up working this weekend and that left me scrambling around at the last minute.  Gone were plans for a garden herb theme meal,  rosemary fococcia, thyme and parsley green beans, and dill braised jerusalem artichokes. I was so short on time I just fast roasted all the sides together in olive oil. BUT  we all enjoyed mixed greens salad from my perennial salad garden made from arugula, sorrel, and perpetual spinach, the last of my red tomatoes in guacamole,  super fresh Green beans harvested literally just minuets before dinner, turnips, and of course the curious jerusalem artichokes. Everyone “had” to try a jerusalem artichoke and then try to describe the taste, the most accurate description of the evening was my sister in laws “potato-radish” I think that is the most accurate description of jerusalem artichoke I have ever come across! This is what growing food is all about isn’t it? Getting together, sharing and eating!

This entry was posted in edibles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeding Friends and Family from the Garden

  1. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

  2. Nency Mainfield says:

    What do you think about adding some more pics? No offence, site is really great. But as I know people acquire info much more effective if they see some useful pics.

    Nency Mainfield
    the jammer

    • Yes definitely I have been wanting to add more pictures! Still trying to figure out how and where! I am not exactly what you would call a technical person, even this simple word press blog is hard for me. I just recently figured out how to move a picture within a post, I know that is embarrassing to admit but eventually I hope I will get a better understanding and be able to do more graphic posts and pages . Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

