Growing Tomatoes for Cooking

Red Amish Paste tomatoes finally made an appearance in my garden! These were  the absolute best hands down cooked tomato I have ever eaten! I have never grown a specific cooking tomato variety before, naively I assumed a tomato is a tomato,   for raw eating or cooking same little red fruit, right? well not quite. I have come to discover cooking variety tomatoes and fresh eating variety tomatoes are radically different. My amish pastes eaten raw are dry, tasteless and mealy, but once roasted off for sauce they became unbelievably sweet with an almost buttery smooth texture.  I finally have that missing culinary insight  into making home made ketchup, tomato paste, and pizza sauce.

Amish Paste Tomato

This entry was posted in edibles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

