Edible Hedges

BC Native Evergreen Huckleberry

When we first moved to this house I was so jealous of all my neighbours well established privacy hedges, Our house is one of the very few on this busy street without a privacy hedge! The hedging project was the very first permanent element of the garden I wanted to tackle, but here I am 3 years later just getting it started, I guess the saying goes good gardens take time.  Last year along the North side of our house I planted what is hopefully going to be a brilliant edible hedge; BC native evergreen huckleberry. Apparently evergreen huckleberry will grow to about 6 feet in the shade, but I think this might be a while, as  I  only have a couple inches of new growth this year. The leaves are tiny, rich green most of the year, new growth comes in light lime and red in the spring followed by petite white bell shaped flowers.  The edible berries are about the size of a raisin, sweet, and seedy with a touch of tartness, they do taste like a genuine wild berry.  Each of my plants (about 18” X 18” right now) is producing about a child’s size hand full of berries, they are just starting to ripen up this week.  On the sunnier side I am  mixing it up with a bit of a patch work, blueberry,Saskatoon berry, thorn less raspberries, tall growing ornamental evergreen cherry laurel and semi-evergreen edible golden bamboo.  A word of caution if you have never dealt with bamboo before, it has a well deserved reputation for being invasive. The “non invasive” clumping variety I grow will reach 8 foot in diameter clumps and grows super fast, The clump I planted last year has already doubled in size delicious edible bamboo shoots snap off at ground level easy enough but the fast moving root system forms a dense impenetrable spider web under the soil surface. If you have ever tried to remove bamboo roots their kind of like trying to cut through shipping chain with your pruning shears. My other thoughts on edible hedges that I am still trying to work into my grand plans are North American native cranberry, service berry, blackberry, and some trained fruit trees. The edible hedge project is a work in progress to say the least.

This entry was posted in edibles, Perennial Edibles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Edible Hedges

  1. Matt says:

    How is the huckleberry hedge coming along? We are thinking of doing a hedge of alternating Huckleberry and Blueberry. Would love to hear how yours is turning out!

    Thanks!

    • thanks for visiting my blog:) I have been meaning to write a follow up post about the huckleberry, its slow going but such a pretty and interesting plant only about 6″ on new growth again this year. It still looks more like a bunch of plants in a row rather than a hedge but I’ll take some pictures this week and post for sure.

  2. Pingback: Evergreen Huckleberry-The Edible Hedge Project Continued | My Little City Food Garden

Leave a Reply

